Cardioid

Yaoi elephants and a snowball fight

Posted on: March 7, 2011

Last weekend was Show 3.

I was in Brampton on Friday, I started driving at 3:50, and due to the traffic, didn’t get here until 5:30. So I missed Eden of the East, which was kinda sad, since I’ve seen the first ep, and have been meaning to watch the rest.

While watching to the show, me and Dylan met up with bluemage, and omg, he’s using Tauburn, the galactic club pet, as actually an umbrella! (Long story short on Tauburn: he was an umbrella left behind at one of the shows last term. We couldn’t locate his original owner, so decided to adopt it, and call it our galactic pet Tauburn (named after the cybody in Star Driver))

Tauburn being used as an umbrella!

Anyway, during the dinner break, me and Sam were chatting about Anime North. She wondered why Asher was scared to stay in the hotel room last year at AN. Our conversation kinda went like this:

Me: “Maybe it has to do with you guys being yaoi fangirls?”
Sam: “Maybe. Two of us are pretty hardcore yaoi fangirls. We did have an all-night yaoi marathon.”

Just then, KiaArra, who was sitting a few seat away, suddenly asked loudly, “What? Yaoi elephants?”

Me and Sam just looked at each other, confused. Neither of us said anything about elephants. That is one huge (and random) mishearing.

At this point, other people overheard the conversation, and was wondering about this yaoi elephant as well. Somehow, it escalated to us looking up “yaoi elephants” on Google. What’s more funny is that Google suggestions asked “Did you mean ‘gay elephants’?” Oh boy.

And for the record, no we didn’t find any relevant pictures of yaoi elephants (and I’m glad for that, didn’t need to bleach my brain), not even yaoi Phanpy (the elephant Pokemon).

Anyway, after the show, we went to the SLC, and I played crazy 8’s on Dylan’s giant novelty playing cards (which I forgot to get a photo of), and looked at his huge Pokemon card collection.

On Saturday, there was a Chaos tournament. I don’t play this game, so I have no idea what’s going on, but I got there as the final match was going on. I looked at the standings and just know that buncy came in last, with 0 points (though to be fair, I guess he learned the game recently), at least he got a consolation prize.

standings for the Chaos tournament

Saturday for the movie slot, we played the Pokemon movie 2000 (the 2nd one with Lugia), from this VHS I got a while ago from Value Village for $0.99 (yeah!). Pheon brought a VHS player that we hooked it up to the projector. It feels so weird to be playing VHS, having to manually rewind and not being able to go directly to the menu and all. We decided to watch the previews and commercials on the VHS before the movie starts. And we were hit with nostalgia. There were commercials about the Powerpuff Girls, Dexter, Pokemon Johto adventures and the 3rd Pokemon movie (available soon on VHS and DVD!), Pokemon cards, Most Valuable Primate movie, a Mary Kate and Ashley movie back when they were pre-teens. So dorky and awesome at the same time!

And while watching the movie, and the Pikachu short before that, we were all commenting on the logistics of Pokemon and how it doesn’t make sense. Like how Exeggcute are considered one Pokemon, even though the eggs are separate individuals. Or how there’s a Snorlax in a tree etc.

After the show, we were planning on going to the SLC. But when we existed AL, we find that it’s snowing, and has been for a while. It was supposed to rain all weekend, but I guess the temperature is lower than predicted or something. I picked up some snow, and discovered that it was really good packing snow. Which means… Snowball fight!!

I think I was the one who started it, or at least, the first one to throw a snowball, haha. But we stayed outside the courtyard of AL playing with the snow for at least half an hour. Some of us had umbrellas that we brought for the rain, and used it for defense. Too bad Tauburn went home with Will and didn’t participate.

Unfortunately I didn’t get any good photos, not enough lighting >____<

A sad thing that I discovered that day though, my mouse, which I got when I got my laptop like almost 5 years ago, its left button has stopped working T__T It has worked hard for me all these years, despite me dropping it so much. You can see from the photo that the Logitech logo on the top of the mouse has mostly been worn out. RIP mouse.

So on Sunday, I went out to get Celebi from the Pokemon event, as well as to get a new mouse. I got one (another Logitech mouse) at Walmart. The toy section was right next to the electronics, so I went to look at Pokemon figures, curious what they have. And yay, I found Quagsire!


When I got home, I found this amusing label on my new mouse’s package

Look at the French label: “Un veritable jeu d’enfant”. I think it literally means “Truly a children’s game”. So plugging in my mouse into the USB port is truly a children’s game, haha.

I also finished playing Okami. I only had to fight the final boss. Now I kind of wish I spent more time levelling up some of the techniques. I did save before going into the final boss area, and I think I want to go back and explore some of the areas I’ve already been and using new techniques to get treasures and stuff. I don’t think I want to get 100% like Dylan, but exploring was fun. I can’t wait for Okamiden for DS coming next month 😀

I goofed off all weekend again. I should get back to work and study for my midterm on Thurs, and do assignments etc… but with Pokemon being out…. ahhhh distractions!

Leave a comment

Join 5 other subscribers